Blogger Recognition Reward

1

Okay.

So slow down.

Breathe…

Breathe some more…

And exhale.

OMG! I’ve been nominated for my first ever blogging award! Thanks to the gorgeous SK Vegan in the City, I am now proud to say that I am being considered for something I never thought that I would be this early on in blogging (for tea and travel, nonetheless!). Although it’s only been two months since I started writing and posting, I am having an absolute blast getting to know other bloggers, read their tips and be inspired by them, for (outside of Fan Fiction) the blogging community is one of the friendliest and most supportive I know. So thanks again SK, and thanks to all!

dsc00441
Shopping in Pushkar

How my blog started:

I mainly started Teacakes and Travel on a whim.

I wanted to get recent writing experience (as my portfolio was looking a bit slim and I was considering applying for jobs in writing), so I thought getting a blog would be the best way to do it. But why tea? Why cakes? Why travel? Simply put, it’s because I enjoy these things. With Ms Simpson, we try to go out once a month to afternoon or cream tea (as we did in Harrods in December), and weekly for general tea and cake. Yet even without my bestie, tea and cake plays a big role in my social life – I’ve had many life-changing moments sat in my local cafe! With travel however, it’s a bit more complicated.

I started this blog at a time when I knew I definitely wanted to travel more, and had already booked my tickets to India. I thought that by having a space where I could talk about my travel experiences with others and see what they’re up to would encourage me to further follow what I’ve always wanted to do. And it has. I’m looking forward to planning more and travelling more, in part because of this blog.

Pieces of advice to new bloggers:

My first tidbit of advice would be to only write about what you want to write. Write about what interests you and what you love because 1) the passion comes through in your writing, and 2) it means you’re consistent in your blogging. I mean, I’ve written about a few dull topics before (on previous blogs I had when I was a teenager), and I never continued any of them because I didn’t care for what I was writing about. So, even if people your age laugh at you because you write about tea, just go for it, because at least you’ll enjoy it! (Thanks, friends of mine!)

My second bit of advice would be to engage in the blogging community – you honestly learn so much. Thanks to my own engagement, I’ve realised what I need to do to be a better blogger overall and am now trying out new styles of writing and photography to try and better myself.

My 10 nominees for the Blogger Recognition Award are:

  1. Wanderlust Calls 
  2. Roxy Moto
  3. Fumbling Through Italy
  4. Plum and Pie
  5. Globetrotter Momma
  6. Dollface Diaries
  7. Sending Postcards Home
  8. Honey Lemon Chai
  9. Isolated Traveller 
  10. Go Travel Global

If you want to be involved in the Blogger Recognition Award these are some simple rules:

Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

Write a post to show your award.

Give a brief story of how your blog started.

Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.

Select 10 other bloggers you want to give this award to.

Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

11 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Reward

  1. Thank you so much for nominating me!
    Unfortunately I have decided to not publish any award nomination things in my real blog but I will answer to this on my second blog (viiviseverina.wordpress.com). I hope you don’t mind 🙂

    And those tips you gave are excellent! I agree that you should always write about things you are passionate about. I hope you will keep writing for a long time because I really enjoy your blog. (Who wouldn’t love tea and travel?)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

